

## **NEWS RELEASE**

December 26, 2023

## Commissioners appoint first board of directors for ESD No. 5

Caldwell County Commissioners on Tuesday, December 26 made two moves with Emergency Services District No. 5, approving orders that formally created the new district and appointed the inaugural members of its five-person board of directors.

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas that is similar to a school district, library district, or hospital district. ESD No. 5, which was passed by voters in the November 2023 general election, was created to operate emergency medical services in Caldwell County.

Depending on the ESD's creation agreement, an ESD can provide fire protection, emergency medical services, or both. The new ESD No. 5 will provide only emergency medical ambulance services and associated emergency medical services.

ESD No. 5 will include most of Caldwell County, except for the City of San Marcos and the extraterritorial jurisdiction of Staples.

The new ESD is expected to be fully operational by 2025. In the meantime, the county will continue to work with Lockhart and Luling to ensure ambulance service.

Commissioners voted to appoint the ESD No. 5 board following discussion that took place in executive session. The inaugural board includes:

- Rebecca King of Lockhart, a nurse practitioner and director of operations for Lockhart Primary Care
- Larry Schnautz, a businessman and Luling resident for the past 28 years.
- Sherilyn Adcock, a pharmacist and Ph.D. from Lockhart
- Jeremy Driver, a licensed paramedic from Dale
- Danney Rodgers, a businessman and volunteer fire chief for Delhi VFD